Cisco cp-7821

Hello All,

I am new to FREEPBX and I am enjoying the service thus far. I am currently in the process of developing a VoIP system at my house for I am a computer engineering student and wanted to have a fun project to work on during the summer. I currently have 4 phones registered to my system. I have 3 CISCO 7942Gs and 1 CISCO 7941G. Those phones function very well. I really like the look of the 7821s and would rather use those in place of the 7941s. I am having some trouble registering the phone. My TFTP server is pulling the correct files and updated the firmware on the phone. Then I had an error come up in the status section error verifying config. I had changed the port number and that error is gone. Now I am getting an error stating error updating user locale and error updating network locale. I am getting the correct date and time on the phone. The phone will not register, just states registration in progress. Attached is my config file. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have starred out any password or username for my privacy.

Thanks

There’s your problem - it’s not a valid XML File (use the right preformatted text option and try again).

Unless you’ve installed something to take the place of CallManager (like Chan-SCCP-B), you’re going to run into these kinds of problems (maybe even after). The files your phone is looking for (see /var/log/messages) need to be available and are only available for actual CM users.

The 7941s run better using the Skinny load - they are just not powerful enough to work correctly with the SIP load. There are a bunch of things that are simply not going to do what you want (most of the buttons, for example). If you want to pursue this further, at some point you are going to end up either installing Chan-SCCP-B (from GitHub) or patching your Asterisk to work with the phones (which means your ability to switch Asterisk versions is gone).