Please help a complete newb with SiPVicious

I have fail2ban running, changed my SSH port number but I still have phantom calls from EXT 1000 non stop.
Do I need to create an IPtable like sonething below? If so, how would I do that?

-A INPUT -p udp -m udp --dport 5060 -m string --string “friendly-scanner” --algo bm --to 500 -j DROP

Sip connections do not use your ssh port, do exactly what you did for ssh but for port 5060 (SIP)

“friendly scanner” is just one of a multitude of SIP exploits that will probe/eventually_penetrate/then_deplete_your_bank_account.

Of course firewalls can help , IDS also (Fail2Ban/rknunter/et_al) but each of these is open to the next vector that attacks your open port(s), be wary of all claims that what you have is absolutely impenetrable, sooner or later most such claims have been found to be eventually baseless.

The Moral of my story is as ever, just don’t expose obvious ports to the so called ‘knuckledraggers’ who are unfortunately a lot cleverer than you. me or probably anyone here, It is trivial to change.

JM2CWAE

To amplify:

• If you do not have “outside” phones (outside your local area), do not open port 5060 (or any other SIP port) to the Internet. If you are running a server “in the cloud”, be sure to limit access to port 5060 to either your dedicated VPN to your local network or VPN your phones.
  • If you do have “outside” phones (either because you have rovers or because you are in the cloud) you need to be very protective of port 5060.
  • Review your firewall settings in all of the devices in your stream to make sure someone hasn’t added a “redirector” that can get around your port lock-down. For example, someone opening port 1234 on your router and redirecting that to internal port 5060 can cause problems like you are seeing.
  • Use the Integrated Firewall and lock the server down tight. If you are and people are still getting in, you’ve done it wrong.