Using custom dialplan to run script

Hi
I am not a programmer but do fiddle a bit but i am failing to get my head around this:
Being a fan of Freepbx for some years and needing to open an electric gate with a phone call, i decided it must be “easy” to setup a Pi with raspabx and a relay board - link to my cloud switch via IAX2 then dial a spare number on the cloud switch - transfers to raspabx which looks at its custom dialplan - runs my relay.py script and opens the gate. Failed at second step - can get script to run from console but really no idea how to make it run from Freepbx. Any replies should be step by step - as already stated i am not a programmer.
Thank you.

In its simplest form, something like this:

[unlock-gate]
exten => s,1,NoOp(Entering user defined context unlock-gate in extensions_custom.conf)
exten => s,n,TrySystem(/path/to/your/script.py)
exten => s,n,NoOp(Script status: ${SYSTEMSTATUS})
exten => s,n,Hangup

Then a Custom destination with a Goto string of unlock-gate,s,1 and if you need a dialable feature code, you can create it with a Misc Application. Script needs to be executable by the asterisk user.

And

/path/to/your/script.py

must be a script that is readable and executable by the asterisk user , /var/lib/asterisk/bin , /home/asterisk/bin are likely places to put your script.py

1 Like

Thank you both very much for your swift replies. I am booked on-site for a few days - so will have a look when i am back in the office. Regarding permissions, i am not sure there is asterisk user on the “paired down” raspberry pi version - i could not see one when listing users.

Thanks again.
Regards
Stuart

Then use whatever user that Asterisk is running as.

I think it is root.

I doubt it, from a shell type

ps aux|grep asterisk

Unless you have some other reason to run raspbx, this seems far more complex than necessary.