Simplest way to bar an extension from making an external outbound call

I have read a number of discussions about this topic but all offer more or less complex solutions or require the purchase of commercial modules. I am a newbie so I am looking for a very simple solution, if there is any. It seems to me that this should be a standard feature. If i were to implement it, I’d have an option, such as a check box, to bar all external calls except to emergency numbers.

I realize others will have more complex requirments and those must be addressed. So, what I want to do when creating an extension is have it default to no external calls to emergency numbers and far a simple way to release the bar.

It is very simple, but it is in no way normal to want. For those that want it, people took the time to code and continually update commercial modules such as extension routing.

Basic (simple code) development from my company is $150/hour. And we cannot code a module to do this in an hour.

That hour ($150) would get you 4 years of Extension Routing ($35/year).

Now if you want to do it cheap, here is only 911. You can figure out for yourself how to add extensions.

Admin → Config Edit → extension_custom.conf

[from-restricted-phone]
exten => 911,1,Goto(from-internal,${EXTEN},1)
exten => _[*0-9]!,1,Playback(ss-noservice)
exten => h,1,Hangup()

Save → Apply Config

Edit the extension(s) that you want to be restricted → Advanced tab → Context

Submit → Apply Config

Any company/agency I have ever worked for has had the ability to bar outside calls. I don’t know why you say it is not normal.

So does Asterisk. Many ways to handle it. I just showed you one in like 2 minutes. There are more options, but I’m not going to bother holding your hand.

I have only been using FreePBX and I am not all that familiar with Asterisk Thank you for your suggestion.

You need to do a little reading. FreePBX is not the phone system you are using.