Responsive Firewall blocking legitimate users

I’ve been using the responsive firewall module for about 3 months now, and more or less it seems to be working as it should. I have 8 home users who sign in intermittently from outside the firewall. Users are using Bria 4.4.0 79956 as the SIP client. The PBX itself sits on our internal network behind a Fortigate firewall, with the appropriate ports forwarded. (Off the top of my head, 5060 for CHAN_SIP, 5061 for PJSIP, 200 incoming ports specified in the SIP configuration for RTP media, and 443 for SSL.) The SIP ALG has been completely disabled on the firewall, and the firewall allows and NATs all outbound traffic from a public IP address that is expressly dedicated to that server and nothing else. STUN correctly detects the public IP address of the PBX. Most users also have a VPN connection into the internal network, however, I would much prefer that all of the SIP traffic not traverse the VPN. These users sometimes need to disconnect and connect to other tunnels while on phone calls, and setting the public IP address of the server allows them to stay connected to the server while changing network configurations. (This has been working this way for several years.)

I had an incident a few weeks ago where a single user got blocked by the Responsive Firewall after rebooting his cable modem, (and likely getting a new IP address) but I just wrote this off as a fluke. That user hasn’t reported any problems since that incident.