Peer Status Unknown after reboot

We rebooted our VOIP phone system now some of our peers are showing status unknown while other peers came up fine and show status OK. What info can I give you to help me, I’m new with Asterisk. I have version Asterisk (Ver. 1.6.2.9). Thank you

I’m going to guess they haven’t tried to reconnect. The PBX doesn’t control who registers and who doesn’t, except that it will reject phones that aren’t supposed to connect.

In other words, I’m guessing that the phones haven’t noticed they were offline and re-registered. Restarting them should solve the problem.

when we restart the phones they come back up unprovisioned

More details.

Phone type? FreePBX version? Actual error messages? Reason why you’re five years out-of-date (Asterisk 13 is out?

Tell us more, or we’re forced to ignore you because trying to help you is a waste of everyone’s time…

Thank you for replying. We are using Cisco 7960 phones. When I do SIP SHOW PEERS, some of the phones are working fine and say OK under Status while I have other phones that say UNKNOWN under Status. I am new to this company so this is what I walked into as far as the outdated version of Asterisk. I plant to get things upgraded soon as I don’t like working with old software. Let me know what other info would be helpful to you. Thanks again!

“Unknown” under status means that the phones have not re-registered.

“Unprovisioned” is something completely different, and is actually not really valid with the 7960 running in SIP mode. If I recall correctly, 7960s can’t use “provisioning” servers in SIP mode.

When you start the phones up (unplug and plug back in), what happens at the phone? There are three phases to booting the SIP version of the phone.

1. VLAN detection.
  2. DHCP and BOOTP configuration.
  3. SIP registration.