Noob has a few questions related to FreePBX/PBXact

Good morning all,

I am posting these questions in hopes someone will be kind enough to take a little time and answer them with best practices. I have used Asterisk for many years, but I am new to the whole FreePBX/PBXact ecosystem, and there is a lot to digest.

** Zulu issue **
When sign in with Zulu, I can only get the option to dial with deskphone. I can’t select anything else. Some forum posts have suggested reinstalling zulu, others have cited the freepbx guide for setting up Zulu, which I have gone through.

Q: Why doesn’t the softphone option show up?

** UCP Error **
I had a UCP error – I kept getting an error talking about requesting a valid directory. I did a bunch of reading on the forums and blog posts and I finally ran across someone from back in 2018 I believe suggest to reinstall the PMS module. I thought, why would this help, its a brand new install, but figured I would try it. Sure enough, it worked after that.

One thing that may or may not be related is that I was setting up the Groups, and I saw one called “Property Management”. I thought, hmm, I don’t need this group, it must be a demo group or something and deleted it.

Q: Did I bork up UCP by deleting this group, or was it likely something in the fresh install/update process that wasn’t working right?

** Firewall ports **
This install is behind a pfSense firewall. I have port forwarded the following ports unrestricted (and are configured in PBXact) :

… TCP/4443(ucp)
… TCP/8003 (node secure)
… TCP/8089(webrtc encrypted)
… TCP/1443(https provisioning)
… TCP/2443(restful api)
… TCP/3443(restful phone apps)
… TCP/8002(zulu3)
… UDP/10000-20000

I also have the following ports open but restricted to the CIDRs the SIP provider provided :
… TCP/5060-5061
… UDP/5060

I have to move an existing OpenVPN server to another port so I can use OpenVPN with PBXact. It is my understanding we cannot modify the port in PBXact. Once done, I will open UDP/1194.