Moving VM from VirtualBox to Hyper-V

I see that many people are using FreePBX with Hyper-V.

We have a new server and need to migrate the existing VirtualBox VM to Hyper-V. I have converted the file to VHD format and started it up under Hyper-V - and it fails to boot.

I have seen mention of using the Legacy NIC option and done that but no difference - as expected - as the boot fails before it gets anywhere near that.

I can’t get a clear idea of the issue as I find it impossible to get at the log messages. All I have is the final page Capture
What seems to be relevant are the following warnings:

Could not boot
/dev/SangomaVG/root does not exist
/dev/SangomaVG/swaplv1 does not exist
/dev/mapper/SangomaVG-root does not exist

I’m new to Hyper-V so don’t really know what to change in the settings.

I would be grateful for any pointers.

Many thanks

Just looked it up for you…

Very much appreciate the quick response. Unfortunately …

The very last part is the bit that is of interest to me - the actual Hyper-V options. All that it shows is using the default setting and bingo it works.

Unfortunately for me that does not work.

Not a HyperV expert either.

What version of FreePBX is this?

Did you look at the logs?

Quite an up to date V14.

But that is irrelevant at the moment. The VM can’t boot as it appears not to find the boot partitions.

I’m not sure what the error messages:

Could not boot
/dev/SangomaVG/root does not exist
/dev/SangomaVG/swaplv1 does not exist
/dev/mapper/SangomaVG-root does not exist

mean but it looks like boot areas.

It seems to me that this is more a CentOS issue than a FreePBX issue.

IIRC you’ll have to use the fsck or e2fsck for the machine to be able to read the block.

If it is a damaged disk it will be simpler to just create a new VM from the distro iso.

I just assumed this was all due to my ignorance of hyper-v setup. But if noone with h-v experience turns up soon I will start from scratch.

All the responses are much appreciated.