Mobile Softphone over VPN

I’m new to FreePBX and am running a hosted server. My desk phones can be on a whitelisted IP for the office, but what about iPhones and Android phones?

It seems the most ideal is to VPN from the phone to the server then make a typical SIP call. Then my security risks are minimal. But how is that done? Has anyone done that here with success?

I can see in FreePBX the setup for enabling VPN Services, but the documentation is mostly geared towards Sangoma phones with end point management. What I need is iPhone and Android phone support.

There’s a cognitive dissonance that I’d like to talk about. WARNING: Theory stuff…

The FreePBX phone server uses OpenVPN for it’s “phone to server” VPN, but it relies on the calls going through an IP Network. There are lots of examples (here in the forums) of people setting up these services.

The problem with setting them up is that they aren’t “using the iPhone or Android” to make the calls. You have to install a new SIP Phone App on the phone (there are lots out there - some work better than others) that runs on your handheld device. Effectively, the phone becomes two phones - the regular Cell Phone interface and the new SIP Network Connected interface.

Most of the people I’ve talked to (not nerds like us, just regular civilians) don’t understand how that works. “I just want to make a call…” is their call to arms. They don’t want to have two (or more) different ways they can be contacted.

The other issue is that the IP networks that run under most cell phones aren’t really well suited to SIP phone operations. Some carriers deliberately mess with SIP signaling, others just don’t care, so they don’t give you the tools to not use their cell network.

Having said that, there is still some hope. There are several techniques that we can use and help you set up that should get you close to where you want to go.