Installing FFmpeg onto FreePBX

Perhaps this isn’t even necessary, but the Dashboard is telling me that I “might want to” install LAME and FFmpeg in order for everything to work with HTML5.

Now, I know that these two applications are plagued by weird licensing issues, and that Sangoma can’t just provide them with the distro. (When I say weird, I’m not trying to start a discussion about the intricacies of copyright law - just acknowledging that there are legitimate reasons that they can’t be in the official distribution.)

I’m assuming that because of these issues, Sangoma must be deliberately vague about installing them. (“You probably need to install something like LAME - and look, here’s a link to the LAME website. Good luck!”)

I’m not a lawyer, I’m a sysadmin. LAME was pretty easy. I installed RPMForge, ran “yum install lame” then disabled the repo. Single binary, no dependencies, so I shouldn’t need to worry that it’s going to mess something up in FreePBX later. FFmpeg looks like it’s going to be a little trickier. RPMforge contains a repo for FFmpeg, but the application has 16 dependencies that it also wants to install.

None of the dependencies seem to conflict with anything that’s already installed on FreePBX - Should it be safe to install this package, then disable RPMforge? On the surface, such an action wouldn’t seem too risky, but I’d like to get opinions of those who know more than me.

Thanks in advance!

rpmforge should have ffmpeg

yum install ffmpeg
yum install gstreamer*