Home alarm system

Hi all,

I have been using FreePBX for many years now, and it’s working great. I was using only a voip.ms trunk but lately, I changed changed my home phone system (not voip.ms) for an IP telephony service offered by my telephony company. So I have now two trunks, and all my calls goes thrun the new trunk with my telephony company. It all work very well.

The problem I have, is with my home alarm system that tries to make call every morning to make sure it can communicate with the alarm central company. The alarm system makes the call, I see it pass thru my FreePBX, and the few first attempt the call is answered, last for about 20 seconds, then it hang-up, and retries a couple of time. At the end, the home alarm system starts “beeping” to tell me that there is a communication problem.

Anyone had this problem and got a clue on how to solve it ?

The alarm company, tells me that they cannot do nothing, and that I need to install their “Internet system” (250 $ !!!) to allow the communication with their system via Internet, instead of via the phone calls.

VOIP and modem systems do not mix well, try making your codec G711, that might make things better.

Thank you for your answer.

I have looked in FreePBX -> Tools ->Asterisk SIP settings, and the g711 codec does not appera there. How can I activate that codec and, I guess that I should also put it in my extension config ?

Thanks

ulaw

I would really recommend not to do this. Most central station contracts don’t allow it and do hou really want your house burning down becuase your voip system was screwed up?

My alarm company provided me a witha GSM modem and it ends up costin under 10/mo for the SIM

http://3galarm.net/

I have no affiliation with this company except as a customer. Their solutions only work with alarm systems which use the “Contact ID” protocol. If you are in the United States and your alarm system is less than 10 years old, there is a fairly good chance that it uses Contact ID.