Hardware Prerequisites for FreePBX Installation

Dear All,
I am quite new to FreePBX. However I have installed the software on one of my servers. In the process, I could not make the use out of the FreePBX box. Therefore, I would like to seek the advises from this forum on the following

What all cards/equipment/hardware are required and whom can I approach so that I can make the use of my FreePBX server.

Regards

A server for the FreePBX and phones are all what you need to make calls between the phones. If you want to call outside then you will need a Trunk. I use SIP Trunk but there are other options out there.

• Can you explain what you did in more details? The configuration and networking can affect the functionality of the server.

Hi. Thanks for your quick response. Well ! I have installed freepbx and since I didn’t get the idea on the hardware requirement, the server is ready with the software only. Coming to phone and sip trunk,where will I get such hardwares? Any vendors that you could recommend? . By the way I am writing from Bhutan. Your help will be appreciated. Thanks.

Phones

You could choose any “SIP phone” that you like and fit your needs. If you just want to make and receive calls then a simple phone should work fine. Some SIP phones have colored screen and extra features that come with price. Some brands work better than others with FreePBX. Sangoma (also own FreePBX) phones expected to work better. You can do your search and people here will tell how difficult or easy the phone will work with FreePBX. You could use softphone to install on your computer / laptop (like Blink http://icanblink.com/) or smartphone. You can use it to test your system, by dialing “*43” and you should hear the system repeat what you say, if you do not have physical phone.

SIP trunk