Get and Install Asterisk modules?

Hi everyone,

Apologies if this has been asked before but in many searches I was unable to locate this information. Be warned I am extremely new to this area.

How do I add additional modules to freepbx? Specifically I would like to see the asterisk CLI and any other asterisk specific modules. I have tried using update modules in FreePBX admin, but it always says it cannot connect to the update site. I attempted several fixes for this error I found elsewhere in the forums but no luck so far.

Thanks in Advance for any Help
Doug

Hi Doug,

I am also pretty new to this as well but for what its worth it just kinda works. Are you sure your box has an internet connection that can resolve DNS records ok? No funkeh firewall rules?

Good luck!

ok your subject say’s one thing and you are asking another.

FreePBX requires asterisk to be installed and functioning but it does not in any way manage installation or modules for asterisk.

Modules for FreePBX are a separate matter. You don’t say what version of FreePBX you are using so I can only help so far.

First off make sure that the box that FreePBX is running on has functioning DNS and can resolve mirror.freepbx.com. If it can’t then that is the first thing that will cause a problem.

Next if you are behind a proxy that will be the second issue, it’s not setup for that. If you have FreePBX 2.5.x there are some changes you can make that might allow it to work but I’m not a expert at that. Search this site for unable to update FreePBX modules behind proxy. There was a patch or two offered to address that.