Future Docker work?

Are there any plans to make an official Docker container for FreePBX? I’ve been using Discourse, an excellent open source forum program (that is running the FreePBX community forum, in fact), and they are very keen on the program being run with Docker.

It would be nice to have a single virtual server running more than one program as Docker allows, so I just wanted to see if there’s any official work going on to incorporate FreePBX into a container so a whole server doesn’t have to be dedicated to it.

Currently the project is not structured in a way that docker makes sense. While you can run FreePBX with docker, there are docker files around the internet, they are essentially using docker as a VM which it is not.

There would have to be some plumbing work at a minimum. We <3 docker for a lot of things but it is not currently on the radar for FreePBX. This doesn’t mean it never will be, just not yet.

Thanks @jfinstrom. I’m no expert on Docker and when it is good to use and when it is not. What about FreePBX doesn’t make it good for a docker application?

Edit: I just found an interesting discussion on Discourse’s forum about why they insist on Docker:

@xrobau may be better to explain it out. Essentially containers are suppose to be single purpose and you currently would have to run multiple items in a single container

@xrobau, could you help explain to me the issues that come along with FreePBX and Docker?

I guess the question really is, can freepbx sit on a different “host”?

Docker best practice in how it would apply to freepbx is you would have Asterisk in one container, FreePBX in another container, MySQL in a third, HylaFax in a fourth container… so one and so forth… each piece would have it’s own container…