Freepbx owned by Schmooze com?

Not sure where to post this?

I’ve been using freepbx for about 5 years now…I see on this forum though that FreePBX is rapidly becoming (or has already become) a product of Schmoozecom…Is that the case?

I see FreePBX Certification is offered (By Schmoozecom)
I see that the FreePBX logo is a registered trademark of Schmoozecom.
In general I’m seeing that (with much props, respect, and Hat’s off to all the developers of Schmooze, Inc for their contributions) instead of being a Free and Open product, includes a ton of advertising and what not of Schmooze’s into the FreePBX product itself.

For the record, I have no issue with what they are doing, but I’m trying to understand if FreePBX is truly “Free” and “open” or if the licensing is all to Schmooze? If I want my customers to talk to us for support, but there are huge SCHMOOZE banners all over the place, it has significant potential to remove revenue from us.

I guess the question is, can we submit a large amount of money and resources as well to “The Community” to get our name on the product? Who makes the decisions? If its truly free and open - can I submit my name and logo into the product as well and remove all the Schmooze advertising?

Can some one clarify?

1 - FreePBX certification has always been offered by Schmooze
2 - Yep, did you see the announcement that Schmooze purchased all rights to the name FreePBX, freepbx.com and the SIPstation VoIP ITSP business?
3 - I think you are confusing FreePBX with the FreePBX distro. Schmooze started the distro project from day 1. FreePBX is still available as a stand alone tarball. I am not intimately familiar with the license agreement, I suggest you take a look before removing trademarks. The terms of FreePBX branding have not changed.