FreePBX and Sangoma phones, advantages?

FreePBX and Sangoma phones, advantages?

I have been using FreePBX for a few years to do many things but I am not concerned with putting phones

Now they ask me if it is worth using Sangoma, so I ask you who have experience with it, to use Sangoma phones with FreePBX what advantages does it give me compared to using Grandstream or Falvil?

A big advantage is the endpoint manager and phone apps modules are free to use with the Sangoma and Digium phones. The phone apps support on the Sangoma phones are great and Zero Touch configuration is also very useful.

2 Likes

Stay away from the Sangoma S-series phones, but the Sangoma/Digium D-Series phones might have a bright future.
I set up two production systems (freePBX14, Asterisk 13) with Sangoma/Digium D65 phones and I can tell the difference. The D65 phone is a voip phone with high quality audio (much much better than the s705) and a very good and stable SW. The Digium Visual voicemail is way better than the Sangoma phone apps stuff!
To configure the Digium/Sangoma D-series phones in freePBX you have to use the Digium phones module and the advanced DPMA configuration.
I never had a better Asterisk phone than the D65. The D80 might be even more impressive, but I need a phone which displays the status of several other extensions all the timeā€¦and it seems, on the D80 you have to swipe to see the infoā€¦

everything seems very interesting, I will propose the D65 for testing

After installing hundreds of Sangoma Phones, I disagree with that.
Zero touch provisioning is something that wasnā€™t mentioned, and works wonders.

Finally, you mentioned that he should ā€œstay awayā€ but you didnā€™t mention why. So I will ask. Why is that?

1 Like

I bought a 705s a year ago and was very, very disappointed. For many years I used Cisco 7975 and 8961 phones with freePBX and became tired of patching Asterisk.