External Softphone Dialing Internal Softphone

Hello, I am using softphones over pjsip. Currently on the local network, everything works, the voice and video calls.
I can also dial onto a softphone that is external and is one of the extensions.
My issue is that I cannot dial any extensions when using a softphone external to my network.
I don’t have any trunks setup, I am very new to this stuff but I have spent a lot of time trying to set up this.
I have 5060, 10000-20000 ports open.
I would appreciate if someone could assist me or say if this is even possible.

There is nothing special about soft phones, except maybe that they are likely to have weaker SIP implementations, and poorer NAT support.

You haven’t mentioned NAT, but I assume that Asterisk is behind NAT. Are the external soft phones also behind different NAT. What have you configured in the routers at the soft phone sites to ensure that inbound SIP and RTP can reach the soft phone?

Assuming the above, what have you done to make Asterisk aware of its public address, and what have you done to make the external soft phones aware of their public addresses?

Do calls to Asterisk extensions work before the point where an outgoing leg is being set up (for example to the Playback and Echo applications)?

At what point in the SIP dialogue does anything go wrong and what exactly goes wrong in protocol terms?

Which version of Asterisk, and which soft phone? Which routers?

The best solution is to use VPNs to handle the NAT mess.

The next best thing is to have the soft phones use a fixed SIP port and fixed RTP range, and to set up port forwarding for those, on the remote site, and also to configure the remote soft phones to present their public address in SIP and SDP, rather their LAN address (these should also all be done at the Asterisk end, for the Asterisk system, as well.