DAHDI works with Rhino R1T1, but does not start after reboot; Do I need chkconfig?

I have a new installation of FreePBX 15.0.16.49 using Asterisk Version 16.9.0 . I am using a Rhino R1T1 card with T1 PRI service from Cox. This is an upgrade from a previous Elastix system I had been running for several years.

The automatic DAHDI config in FreePBX worked fine, but the DAHDI Config page shows that DAHDI is not running, and suggested clicking the “Restart DAHDI and Asterisk” button. That worked, and the system then answered incoming calls. However, when I rebooted the system, Asterisk came up but DAHDI did not, and the system would not answer incoming calls.

Clicking “Restart DAHDI and Asterisk” again worked to fix that.

After reboot, sudo service dahdi status produceed no output because dahdi was not running. Running sudo service dahdi start started dahdi, and then sudo service dahdi status would output:

### Span  1: R1T1/0 "Rhino R1T1 T1/PRI Card 0" (MASTER) ESF/B8ZS 
  1 PRI        Clear       (In use)  
  2 PRI        Clear       (In use)  
  3 PRI        Clear       (In use)  
  4 PRI        Clear       (In use)  
  5 PRI        Clear       (In use)  
  6 PRI        Clear       (In use)  
  7 PRI        Clear       (In use)  
  8 PRI        Clear       (In use)  
  9 PRI        Clear       (In use)  
 10 PRI        Clear       (In use)  
 11 PRI        Clear       (In use)  
 12 PRI        Clear       (In use)  
 13 PRI        Clear       (In use)  
 14 PRI        Clear       (In use)  
 15 PRI        Clear       (In use)  
 16 PRI        Clear       (In use)  
 17 PRI        Clear       (In use)  
 18 PRI        Clear       (In use)  
 19 PRI        Clear       (In use)  
 20 PRI        Clear       (In use)  
 21 PRI        Clear       (In use)  
 22 PRI        Clear       (In use)  
 23 PRI        Clear       (In use)  
 24 PRI        HDLCFCS     (In use)