Auto answer incoming calls

Hello,

I am new to to FreePBX and i am trying to figure out how to automatically accept incoming calls and record them. I have connected my SIP trunk succesfully.

I am only concerned about accepting the incoming call and record it, I don’t want someone speaking back to the incoming caller.

Like I said I am a complete newbie to FreePBX and voip, I hope you guys could help me with configuring.

Thanks a lot!

Recording can be enabled on the inbound route. What do you mean by ‘accept’, what happens to the inbound call?

By accept I mean that when someone is calling my voip number the system will answer the call (not an agent for example.)

That doesn’t answer my question, what happens to the call once the PBX answers?

I think nothing?, i have not connected it to a device or something if thats what your meaning?

Well I genuinely can’t figure out what you’re asking, but if the goal is to test inbound calls before you have anything configured, I will usually send the call to Feature Codes -> Echo Test.

Is this really that hard to setup? I only need the system to pickup the incoming calls automatically and record them. Thats it.

Sounds like voicemail to me.

1 Like

Yes it is, but i also need to record the conversation longer then 2 hours, is this possible?

Yes. The default is 300 seconds but you can change that in voicemail- > settings

Thank you for your response, I have set up voicemail now. I have set the destination in inbound route to voicemail (unavailable message), but I want to get rid of the message. Is this possible?

I want no greeting message in the voicemail and still want to record the call.

Record your own “personal” “empty” greeting message.
Or just disable voicemail greeting altogether.
There is also a way to direct the call to a voicemail without playing the greeting message, I did it a long time ago so I don’t remember exactly which destination needs to be selected, but I do remember that it exists.