AsteriskNow vs FreePBX Distro? which one to use?

Hi everyone,

I am new to FreePBX. Like to check on this one.

2 questions:-

a) I heard from someone in the industry that AsteriskNow is obsolete, and he recommended me to install FreePBX Distro as it consists the latest Asterisk engine? Is that true?

b) If I don’t choose the FreePBX distro, can I install on ubuntu 10.04 LTS 64 bits?

Any help?

thanks so much :slight_smile: i will give it a try then :slight_smile: cheers

I would recommend FreePBX. It is a lot less work to install and later upgrade if you use the distro.

FreePBX Distro is by far the best option, its simple to install and regularly maintained. Upgrades are by simple scripts which include Asterisk and Centos upgrades. All upgrades are fully tested by the development team who react quickly to any bugs in the odd cases when bugs are reported by users. There is a continuous dialogue between users and the developers through the Distro Forum.

Thanks everyone :slight_smile:

3 more questions.

a)I will give the freepbx distro a try. So the distro comes with centos only? coz i am more used with ubuntu 10.04 LTS, is there a distro on ubuntu?

b)Is there any loopback adapter which I can use to test out freepbx + asterisk functionality out of the box? Coz it takes time to apply for ISDN PRI line over here. Or could I plug into a normal telephone line?

c) last question, can i install http://www.fop2.com/ and configure with freepbx? coz i need to have a receptionist interface so she can monitor the calls and direct to the right person in an easier way. Or is there any open source alternative which is good and nice web interface?

any help? thanks.

The distro is a full system install so it is only Centos. If you want to use Ubuntu you will have to build the system by hand. This is a lot more work because you have to install the OS, Asterisk, dependencies, etc. and then install FreePBX. That is the nice part of the distro, just pop in the CD and install.