Assistance setting up FreePBX server

Hello. I’m new to Asterisk. I am trying to set up a phone number to receive and transmit calls. The SIP Service I am using is GoTrunk. I am struggling to understand how to set things up properly, tried many different ways but don’t seem to find it.

How do I connect gotrunk to freepbx both for inbound and outbound calls? Is there a way to test if it works without a softphone?

Then how can I connect a SoftPhone? Everything is running on a VPS so is there anything I have to change to allow softphones to connect?

Thank you for helping your fellow noob.

See User Manual - IP PBX Configuration - FreePBX | GoTrunk .
This is old and assumes chan_sip . However, I recommend that you follow it and get it working. You can switch to pjsip later.

Sure, you could route incoming calls to voicemail, an IVR, your mobile phone or a test destination such as Echo Test. For outgoing, you could set up DISA. However, I strongly recommend that you set up your softphones or other extensions first, as that is much easier to debug.

There are many free softphones. Zoiper and Linphone are good choices, because they are available for both computers and smartphones. Depending on your application, you might later upgrade to a paid app.

Thank you for your reply. I did follow that guide and I could not get my configuration to work. I need to somehow first make sure that asterisk is connected to gotrunk and then connect to the soft phone. Do you know how exactly I connect a LinPhone and how to make all of this work on a public IP? Currently I’m hosting FreePBX on a public domain, do I connect LinPhone to that or directly to the server IP?

At the Asterisk command prompt, type
sip show peers
and
pjsip show endpoints
then post the output of both commands.
Also, what, if anything, do you see wrong on LinPhone or at GoTrunk
What happens when you try to make or receive a call?