Answering multiple simultaneous calls

I am very new to this system. So I have the latest release of the PBX. I have Polycom 501’s for handsets. My issue currently is handling simultaneous calls. Lets say ext. 100 is on a call, any other inbound calls for that Ext. gets the message that the party is on an another call. Then without notifying ext. 100, sends the caller to VM. So, in the extension setup I enabled the call waiting feature. Now the phones are able to handle 2 simultaneous calls, and beyond that if there are any more new calls from another ext. or a trunk, they go to VM unannounced to Ext. 100. How can I enable the phones or at least one phone to ring to all inbound calls. Basically my aim is to give a live receptionist a chance to answer before the IVR takes over. I even went to the individual settings of the Polycom 501’s to see if there is anything there, but no luck. With this issue on hand I am wondering what is the point of having a multi-line phone! I really appreciate your input.

There are actually a couple more sophisticated things a setup like this can do, but this would solve the problem as I understand it.

Why would you do all this hacking instead of simply setting up the line appearances properly on the phone?

Look at queues.

Queues? Not sure where Bill is going with that.

In each line registration on the Polycom is a variable that sets the number of lines per that registration.

Well, with ques, you can “handle” multiple inbound calls with a single handset. But then again, maybe I misinterperated what he wanted. Guess I’ll have to read it again.