*97 and *98 on Cisco 8800 series phones

I am relatively new to FreePBX, I have the server setup with 3 extensions

One extension is registered to a Bria softphone app

Second extension is registered to a Yealink T48.

Third extension has a Cisco CP-8865-3PCC-K9 V17 with software sip8845_65.11-2-3MPP-398 registered. (with help from this topic here: Cisco 8865 not registering )

On all three extensions, the echo test (*43) works as expected. On the extensions with the Bria and the Yealink both *97 and *98 function as expected.

But on the extension with the Cisco 8865; *98 works as expected. *97 though does not work. When I dial *97 I get what I believe is a busy tone. Looking at logs, I do see the calls from this phone to *98 - but none of the calls to *97 are appearing in the Asterisk log

FWIW, I have also experienced this exact issue with a Cisco 8811 with MPP software on a separate FreePBX server I am trialing for work.

I did find this on reddit, which accurately describes the symptoms I am having.

I have looked at Voice->Regional though, and unfortunately in my case none of the feature codes are set to use *97 or *98.

Did you also check the dial plan?

Well, I started with the default dialplan:
(*xx|[3469]11|0|00|[2-9]xxxxxx|1xxx[2-9]xxxxxxS0|xxxxxxxxxxxx.)

Then I changed to this simpler one:
(*xx|3xx|xxxxxxxxxx)

I should say at this point I do not have any outbound calling set up on this system. Just trying to get internal calls working at this time. My 3-digit extensions all start with a 3.

The fact that I can successfully dial echo test at *43, and the *98 route into voice mail makes me suspect the dial plan is satisfactory, But, as you know, I have been wrong before.

Check all the Vertical Service Activation codes, especially Call Pickup, which defaults to *97.
Also check Referral Services Codes and Feature Dial Services Codes.