Cisco 8865 not registering

Been doing a lot of looking around here and I understand the opinions about Cisco phones.

I am relatively new to FreePBX, I have the server setup, and have successfully registered a Yealink T48 and a Bria soft phone app, which both work. The Bria configured in the app and the Yealink T48 via the web UI.

I do not have the endpoint manager at this time.

I also have a recently purchased Cisco CP-8865-3PCC-K9 V17 with software sip8845_65.11-2-3MPP-398. I have used this as a guide: Configuring a Cisco 8841-3PCC for FreePBX, 3CX, etc - LabZilla.

The phone shows the display name and extension number, but has an amber (not green) lamp next to the extension number, with a “circle x” icon preceding the extension number on the phone display. There is no dial tone when I pick up the receiver.

The frustrating thing is that I briefly had it sort of working just out of the box. I had a green light and could make/receive internal calls. But could not get into voice mail. So I did a factory reset on the phone, and since then I have never been able to get it to actually register.

I have tried setting SIP transport to TCP instead of UDP, I have also tried both with and without my pbx server name in the “outbound proxy”. I have also appended the server names with the port “:5060”

So far nothing has worked. The phone is obviously talking to the server to get the extension number and display name, but that’s it. Any suggestions are appreciated.

So if you understand that these are under resourced phones and are ‘nightmares’ (but cheap because of that), what exactly are you expecting from this forum ?

Nope. According to the document you linked, you entered those values into the phone itself.