Wireshark and occasional dropped calls

I don’t know where to start. Our client has been experiencing occasional dropped calls. Their issue is when three calls come in at a time, it drops all three calls. They have given me time stamps and the cdr reports/recorded calls, verify the dropped call, but the logs show no error messages. It just shows the call leaving the simple bridge, first the extension, then the inbound call. I have never dealt with phone systems and network issues till about a year ago. I am still learning, so any expertise advice would be helpful.

I wouldn’t say it’s a network issue, but who knows?..

I myself don’t have much Wireshark experience, but could be someone else here can provide some pointers.

However, I’d say you should post a call log from these failed calls. Maybe we can spot something.

Also, your provider should be able to tell what they see in their end.

Lastly, what’s your Trunk config?

Have the customer pick up all of their phones at once and see what happens. If the POE from the switch is overloaded or glitch, it should trigger and switch reset, which would do precisely what you are describing.

I was running ping tests to the firewall and the phone server and noticed ping results, at times, in the 1000ms. At least 4 or 5 of them in a row. Would that cause packet loss?

Yes, a two-second ping time could possibly drop all of the extensions.

And they have fiber internet

Vitelity inbound
type=friend
dtmfmode=auto
username=xxxxxxx
secret=xxxxxxxxx
context=from-trunk ; (this could be ext-did or from-pstn as well)
insecure=port,invite
canreinvite=no
host=inbound28.vitelity.net

vitelity out

username=xxxxxxxx
type=friend
trustrpid=yes
sendrpid=yes
secret=xxxxxxxxx
host=outbound.vitelity.net
fromuser=xxxxxxxxx
dtmfmode=auto
context=from-trunk
canreinvite=no

the call logs dont show a failed call. just shows the simple bridge being left. first from the extension, then from the inbound.

No POE here.

Hmmm.