Why do I need to be on the internet for my phones to register over a local network?

Hi guys,

Sorry for the probable newbie question, but I am studying and learning.

Yesterday after heavy rain, my internet went out and my phones could not register. My setup is all over a local network. I have a couple IP Phones, a Cisco/Linksys ATA and a machine running FreePBX. They are all on the same network, same subnet, etc. Why does the internet connection matter for phone registration? I understand it affecting trunks (obviously SIP trunks wont work) but why wont the phones register?

Thank you for your help.

You don’t need Internet to get sip phones register in your LAN.

Maybe the Asterisk log can help you…

# tail -f /var/log/asterisk/full 

Can You post Your sip_*.conf?

I suspect that you’re using domain names for your server, or something like this. Find your device configs and set the IP address of your server, do not use the name of the server. Unless you are running your own DNS server, then you would need to make changes there.

I presume you are using this at home, probably using a dynamic IP address and using something like Dyn DNS for a domain name?

It would help if you could post your Network Topology, give as mush information about it as you can.

Thank you guys for your reply. The logs baffle me. Too much info and I am not yet used to all the terms. I will study them to understand better.

I did install BIND on the server, but maybe I didnt configure it correctly. In any case, the phones are all configured with the server’s IP address, not a url.

My network is set up like this:

IPPBX Server 192.168.0.250
|
Managed 3Com Switch 192.168.0.253
|
Router 192.168.0.1
|
Modem 192.168.25.1

The Router is in the modem’s DMZ and the server is in the router’s DMZ.

The IP phones, computers, TVs, and AP are connected to the switch as well.

So in theory, nothing should demand an internet connection to work unless you actually need the internet.

I have installed