Which platform?

This is more of a request for general advice than to solve a specific problem. I am new to FreePBX/Asterisk and slowly (but surely) learning how to configure it, with articles on this forum being a great help so far. I am currently trying to implement a small deployment at home (with an external link to my Voip service and no more than 3 extensions). I may be doing a slightly larger (but still small) deployment somewhere else after this.

For ease and quickness, I initially set up the system on a Raspberry Pi using the pre-built RasPBX system. The only problem with this is that it is currently at version 15 of FreePBX and as far as I can tell, it is possibly not straightforward to upgrade. I have also installed the latest FreePBX download on a virtual machine just to see how it compares, and can see straight away that it would be advantageous to go with version 16 if at all possible.

The hardware platform that I eventually go with depends on a number of factors, but there are two questions in my mind for which opinions would be greatly valued.

1. Which of a Raspberry Pi (3B/4) or a virtual machine (which would be running under VirtualBox on a Linux host) is likely to give better performance, or is there not much to choose between them?
  2. I have found a number of articles online about installing FreePBX on a Raspberry Pi and they seem quite involved. If this is the way to go, can anyone recommend a good and reliable article on the subject?

Thank you.

Raspberry Pi sounds perfect for your use case. Unless you need some specific functionality of 16 (I cannot think of a big one off the top of my head), I would wait. While 17 is in beta, it will likely be out sooner rather than later.

The only other thing I would add to this is that sometimes SD cards can be finicky, and corruption can happen. A regular SD backup or more ideally moving to booting off an SSD.