What type of Trunks can I use

Hello Everyone

I am fairly new to Freepbx and would like some help with system setup. I currently have 3 POTS lines and was thinking of hooking them up to a freepbx box. The only thing is that if all three lines are in use no one else can call in or out. I need a system that people can call into and out of that is not restricted by how many lines I have like the old post system. I am willing to get rid of the POTS trunks but am not sure what kind of Trunk I can use to accomplish this.

A normal SIP Trunk would work.

Check out Sangoma SIP Station, they have reasonable pricing.

I love FreePBX and yes, Sangoma bought them, but the SIP Station pricing has never been “reasonable pricing” IMO.

For most people with simple usage, I recommend VoIP.ms, Twilio, or Skyetel.

SipStation only offers a flat rate per “line” offering of $22.99 per month. Any service charging a flat rate per “line” is costing you too much money.

There are 20 working days in June of 2019. That equates to 160 working hours assuming an 8 hour work day. That equals 9,600 working minutes in June.

$22.99 / 9,600 = $0.0024 per minute just to have that single call path available.

The OP wants more than 3 lines available. Let’s assume 5.

This brings the cost to $114.95 per month. That is a relative $0.012 per minute.

But that per minute rate is assuming that you are on all 5 lines for 8 hours a day for 20 days. That means you are on the phone for 48,000 minutes in the month.

That is not reality. More likely, people are on the phone a fraction of that. So buying service on a pay as you go solution is much more cost effective.

Let’s start with the $114.95 assume cost for 5 “lines”.