Voip.ms Debugging Random Registration Issues

I’m new to VoIP, setting up my first system for my small business. Transitioning off of a traditional POTS system. While I am new to VoIP in general and FreePBX in particular, I am a software engineer and feel pretty at-home learning all the configurations, tools etc for everything.

I think I have a pretty good handle on how things should be set up. Here is where I am in the process:
Purchased a bunch of Clearly IP phones for the office. They are on people’s desks next to old pots phones. Set up FreePBX on a dedicated server also purchased from ClearlyIP, following the YouTube guides from Crosstalk. All the phones on desks are working fine with FreePBX - we can call each other’s extensions, leave voice mails, conference calls, park calls, etc.

I also set up a trunk with voip.ms, again following the guides from Crosstalk as well as the wiki on voip.ms. MOST of the time everything works just great. We can make outbound calls. We can receive inbound calls. I’ve set up ring groups. I’ve got on-demand call recording set up that emails to the owner of the extension as soon as the call terminates. Everything is more or less perfect, and we are ready for our main phone number to port… EXCEPT: seemingly randomly, multiple times a day, I’ll pick up my new VoIP phone to place a test call to my cell phone and I’ll get the “That number has not yet been registered” message. If I also immediately use my cell phone to call one of the DIDs I have at voip.ms, I’ll get a “call failed” message on my phone after it tries for like 30 seconds.

If I simply wait 30 seconds to a minute, and try either an incoming or outgoing call again, everything works fine.

Seems to me like an issue with voip.ms, so I reached out to their support, and explained everything. They insist that the problem is with the INVITE format with my SIP sessions, and that I have to follow the following format: