Using Python for AGI scripting

Hi

I am new to FreePBX and I am looking to create some automation on inbound routes.
I have written a Python script that does a REST lookup into our service management software and extracts an extension number based on the incoming caller ID, of a queue for the team that services the customer. The script works, but I was not sure how to integrate it into the system. It looks like I need to use AGI for this, but I cannot see any way to add the agi module to Python. I am using the Freepbx ISO which has Python installed, yet there is no Asterisk module, or AGI module and I can’t seem to see a way to get it installed. I could then use the get and set variable functions to parse the caller ID in and the destination number back.

Hoping someone can help.

Cheers
Mark Dutton

Welcome to the forum!

Some background reading for you:

Yes thanks for this. I read this and figured this was the way. I struggle with Perl and PHP, but I can get around Python.

I have written a script in python and tested it. The script needs to make a few successive rest calls and parse the json, so it needs to be done externally. It looks like there are modules for python to import for AGI, but they don’t seem to exist on the native Freepbx ISO. I installed pip, and from there pyst, but I still didn’t seem to get the AGI functions to read and write Asterisk variables. I’ll reread again tomorrow and see if I can figure it out. The script takes the caller ID, does some rest calls and returns an extension number to forward the call to, so I think I have done the hard part.

Cheers

Mark

yum install perl-CPAN is where I would start.

Then within CPAN shell, install Asterisk::AGI - Simple Asterisk Gateway Interface Class - metacpan.org

Sorry, I had a brain fart. I meant python, not perl. I have edited the OP. Can’t believe I did that.