Using mysql to manage freepbx

hi
I am a bit new to asterisk and learning. while reading the book “Asterisk the definitive guide 5th edition”.
the author uses mysql to manage it instead of the normal conf files. i also want to practice alogn with the author so i have freepbx latest version instaled and when i enter the commands which are working for auther they dont work for me. seems like my pbx is using mariadb and auther is using mysql.

can anyone guide me how do i format commands from author to my freepbx accordingly . i will brush up my db skills too along way. below is from book.

**First, into the ps_endpoints table, we’ll want to add the following:**
**$ mysql -D asterisk -u asterisk -p**
**Let’s review what we have there already (from the previous chapters):**
**mysql> select id,transport,aors,auth,context,disallow,allow from asterisk.ps_endpoints;**
**+--------------+---------------+--------------+--------------+----------+----------+-------+**
**| id | transport | aors | auth | context | disallow | allow |**
**+--------------+---------------+--------------+--------------+----------+----------+-------+**
**| 0000f30A0A01 | transport-udp | 0000f30A0A01 | 0000f30A0A01 | starfish | all | ulaw |**
**| 0000f30B0B02 | transport-udp | 0000f30B0B02 | 0000f30B0B02 | starfish | all | ulaw |**
**2 rows in set (0.00 sec)**

when i try using this comand i get below error

MariaDB [asterisk]>
MariaDB [asterisk]> mysql> select id,transport,aors,auth,context,disallow,allow from asterisk.ps_endpoints;
ERROR 1064 (42000): You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MariaDB server version for the right syntax to use near ‘mysql> select id,transport,aors,auth,context,disallow,allow from asterisk.ps_end’ at line 1
MariaDB [asterisk]>

Any suggestion please. Can i make freepbx use same db so i can practice smoothly alogn.