Using FreePBX for routing calls from one PRI to another PRI

Hello,

I am new to PABX and telephony so I feel overwhelmed when seeing all the terms and acronims. It would be great to have an initial confirmation that FreePBX is a viable solution for what I am trying to achieve.

The context is probably non-typical : for testing lab purposes , i need to connect 2 devices that have isdn PRI interfaces. The first device is always the caller, and the second device is always the receiver. So the goal is to connect them to some kind of PABX that redirects the connection from caller to the receiver. This needs to support multiple channels in parallel (data channels). The receiver will have a single phone number that will be used by all channels.

In future i’ll want to extend this to have 1 caller and 2 receivers. So depending on the phone number the call would be redirected to one receiver or the other.

I have already installed FreePBX on a pc that has 2 dual Digium PRI adapters ( so in total there are 4 PRI connectors that are recognized ok - they appear in the DAHDI configuration ). However am not sure what exactly do I need to configure next. So far I have set a different “group id” for each PRI interface, and created 2 trunks of type DAHDI. I expect that i’ll need to configure some incoming/outgoing rules.
Clearly I need to study more the topic before becoming able to know what am i doing…

Please share any thoughts about this configuration : does it seem feasible to use FreePBX for this setup ?

Thank you !

Let’s go step by step here.

Can you confirm that the signalling on your T1/E1 is PRI ?

Yes, i am sure that it is isdn PRI t1/e1.

A) E1 or T1 ?

On what hardware does it originate ?

Do you have both ends directly connected over a properly arranged RJ-48 if T1 or presumably coax if E1 ?

Don’t push your luck trying to debug two complex interfaces at the same time. I recommend: