User Voicemail - deleted messages play as 'new' when finished listening to voicemail messages

Here’s the issue: A user checks VMs, listens and deletes say 5 new messages. Once they get to the end of their messages, the system then loops back to play the messages again that were listened to. The system will say ‘5 new messages’. When they go to delete it again (thinking they did not delete properly), deleting the message results in notifying the user that they have undeleted the message.

Curious if this is normal behavior, or if there is a config issue.

FreePBX 15.0.17.64