Understanding relationship (many to one?) of DIDs to a SIP trunk

Hello, I am very new to FreePBX, with less that 3 weeks experience. I am still trying to understand the relationship between SIP trunks and DIDs.

I have five DIDs and one SIP trunk. As I continue to learn tis technology, my first goal is to have my initial system be one that “can make as many outbound (originate) calls as I have DIDs.”

With my current configuration which has both PRIMARY and SECONDARY SIP trunks enabled, I can make only ONE outbound call at a time, from any DID. My expectation of one SIP trunk and 5 DIDs is to be able to make 5 outbound calls simultaneously.

My expectation is NOT met with a single SIP trunk and 5 DIDs. So, at this point I either (1) misunderstand the relationship between SIPs and DIDs, or (2) I have not configured some FreePBX control parameter correctly, or (3) the very old PC which runs FreePBX is too underpowered, or (4) some combination of the above.

I can, however, make at least ONE outbound call from a given DID and simultaneously RECEIVE an INBOUND call on another DID.

Here is my question:
“In order to make multiple Outbound calls, do I need a SIP trunk for each of my five DIDs?”

I realize this is a very basic question and will be grateful for a clear answer. I have not as yet found an internet source that is clear about this question.

Update: Skyking 2010 replied: “Bottom line - DID’s are simply phone numbers fed on a trunk. Trunks are usually two way. The amount of concurrent traffic on a trunk is set by your provider.”

I purchased DIDs and one SIP trunk through FreePBX.org online store (Broadband.com).

Can anyone here advise re Broadband.com provision of DIDs/outbound calls per SIP trunk?

Many thanks!

SegwayDude,