Unable to connect softphone to FreePBX

I have FreePBX running on aws. Unfortunately, I can’t get any softphones to connect to it. I’m not sure if it is a configuration problem on FreePBX or if it is a hardware issue on possibly my router. I am very new to FreePBX. I used Youtube tutorials to set it up and it appears to be up and running correctly. I followed the tutorials on creating extensions and connecting a softphone but none of the softphones will connect. I’ve tried the 3CX and microsip. Any help would be very appreciated. Thanks.

1 Like

Hi, did you take a look at your firewall ? Go to Connectivity > Firewall > Networks > Add your public ip (from where you are trying to register) as “trusted”, then try again.

Thanks for the reply. I don’t have the firewall module enabled. Also, I wasn’t sure which ip is my public ip. I notice several different ip’s within FreePBX. For instance, under Settings > Asterisk SIP Settings, it shows External address and Local networks. Then under Admin > System Admin > Network Settings there’s a Static IP and Gateway. I’m generally confused.

I set up the firewall. I have my public ip on there. I was able to get two softphones to call each other but not out. The mic and/or speakers are not working when I do though. Also, I am unable to register my DID numbers using sip. Pjsip seems to work but not sip. Attached is I get when I try to register sip.

Thanks.

PJ-SIP is SIP, just a different channel driver. Normally, PJ-SIP is assigned to port 5060 and Chan-SIP (deprecated and no longer maintained) is on port 5160.

There are a lot of things in this thread that confused me, so I’m going to make some suggestions that may or may not help you.

1. The port you access the phone system with (5060 or 5160) determines which channel driver you are using.
  2. SIP phones can connect to either, but they must be set up in the channel driver as Chan-SIP extensions or PJ-SIP extensions.