Trying to provision Cisco 9971

Hi all!

I’m brand new to the PBX/phone world and I bought pair of Cisco 9971’s to setup in my homelab. I’ve got FreePBX installed and DHCP configured to point TFTP to the FreePBX box, but after that I’m not sure how to actually setup these phones.

Could someone point me towards a good guide to follow? I don’t want to pay for Endpoint Manager as I’m just using these two phones at home for fun.

I also tried going to the phones IP address to see if I could configure it through its webpage, but it only shows statistics and debug info - no settings area.

Thanks!

A search shows many tutorials and sample configs.

looks like a good one for beginners.

I agree with his philosophy of getting FreePBX working first, using softphones or mobile SIP apps. After you can make and receive calls, then work on the 9971. He’s in the UK, so you’ll need to modify his dial plans for North American formats (assuming that’s where you are). Since you are starting from scratch, choose extension numbers that don’t conflict with the numbering plan for your country, e.g. 101-109 if you are indeed in US or Canada.

Thanks for the reply! Shortly after I posted the thread, I found a bunch of tutorials on how to create the SEP[MAC].cnf.xml file and stick it in the TFTP server in FreePBX. I thought I had it correct, but the phone still reads “Phone Not Registered”.

In the /var/log/messages I can see a lot of requests for SEP[MAC].cnf.xml.sgn so I copied my .xml file and called it .xml.sgn, but that’s probably not the right way to do it. What’s the difference between those two files?