Trunking question cucm <> freepbx <> itsp

Hi, I’ve been browsing these forums for a little while. I’m new to freepbx / Asterisk but have some experience with Cisco VOIP.

I am confused and going around in circles a bit, trying to translate knowledge of Cisco into the freepbx.

To put it simply, at the moment I have the following:
CUCM 2-node cluster <-> Cisco CUBE <-> SIP ITSP

And I am trying to achieve the following (basically swapping the CUBE for freepbx):
CUCM 2-node cluster <-> Freepbx <-> SIP ITSP

freepbx will not register any phones / endpoints at all.

I have inbound and outbound calls working via freepbx, so from ITSP to CUCM-registered phones and from the cucm phones to ITSP. But I am a bit confused about the trunk/inbound/outbound routes.
Freepbx does not register any endpoints here, it’s just allowing CUCM to send and receive calls from the ITSP.

Firstly I configured 3 x trunks on freepbx:

1. SIP trunk to the ITSP
    2 I then configured 2 x SIP trunks to each cucm node.

After that I configured 2 x outbound routes. 1 to the ITSP with a string of XXXXXXXXXXX to match a 11-digit number. A 2nd outbound route, pointing to the CUCM trunks matching 5XXX for the internal 4-digit extensions.

I was then able to call from a cucm phone to a 11-digit number via freepbx.

So first question, does creating the outbound routes also then match as inbound call legs? Or is there a ‘default’ call leg?

Inbound calls from my mobile phone were not working at this point as expected. So I then created an inbound route, matching the DID of my ITSP phone number. The destination is set to “trunks” and I set the main active node of CUCM as the destination trunk (in Cisco, the active member isn;t normally the primary node fyi).
After doing this, inbound calls are now working which is great.