Trunk Monitoring

I have been running a php script via cron for many years (PIAF forum) to alert me when a trunk is not registered.

One of the trunks (from Voipfone in UK) occasionally fails and the only way to get it back is to disable the trunk for 2+ minutes and then enable it again.

I want to modify the script to disable the trunk, sleep for 130 seconds and then enable it again.

I would like to avoid hard-coding the exact IDs as these may change.

As far as I know I need to use “fwconsole trunks --disable x” to temporarily disable the trunk but for that I need to know the value of x for the trunk that has failed.

asterisk -rx “sip show registry” shows the Host which includes the name Voipfone but then I need a way to determine the trunk ID.

In short, I need to determine which Trunk ID has failed to register.

Any guidance most welcome.

This is usually caused by a ‘poisoned’ NAT association in the router or firewall that is being kept alive by aggressive retries by Asterisk.

If you have a static IP address and Voipfone supports ‘IP authentication’, set that up and don’t use registration at all. That’s most robust and you can still use qualify to detect trunk outages.

Next, if your router/firewall has separate UDP timeouts for ‘unreplied’ and ‘assured’ states, set the unreplied timeout shorter than the retry interval and recovery should be automatic.

Otherwise, assuming a reasonably updated system (FreePBX 15, Asterisk 16), switch to pjsip trunks. Set all three Retry Intervals to e.g. 180 seconds.

If you must use chan_sip, set registertimeout to 180 and registerattempts to 0 (see Asterisk config sip.conf - VoIP-Info )

If none of the above are applicable or don’t help, please provide some details: Router/firewall make/model? Does it have a public IP on WAN interface? If not, why (ISP supplied gateway, ISP does NAT, etc.)? FreePBX and Asterisk versions? Why do you have / how do you use multiple trunks with the same provider?