Total newbie. Questions re date and time on phones

Greetings,

Please excuse my ignorance if I have placed this in an inappropriate forum.

Intro: I have been thrust into (by default) managing the phone system (and many other systems) here. I am the de-facto general “sys/net admin” for a small company (<30 users).

I am very very new to IP based phone systems though I do have a pretty good background in networking and windows based servers. I am also a Cisco CCNA. Not bragging, just trying to give you an idea of what type of technical abilities I have. I know a few Linux commands, and have available to me (one of my users) a person that is familiar with various versions of Linux.

The person I replaced left “abruptly” with no knowledge transfer at all. Hence my situation.

Regretfully, I do not know the relationship between, TrixBox, FreePBX and Asterisk. Is Trixbox a front end for FreePBX which is based on Asterisk ? Any enlightenment would be appreciated.

As far as I can tell this is what I have/know: I have a generic type of server: At the bottom of the post is what I was able to capture from some of the admin screens as far as versions are concerned.

My immediate question/problem is that some (most) of the phones display incorrect date and time. When I reboot them, they revert to December 31. The date and time increments forward from there (until the next reboot of the phone). The TRIXBOX main screen (V 1.2.3) shows the correct time of day. I presume this is server time and should somehow be able to be transferred to the phones. I can’t find a time area in FREEPBX. All I see is uptime.

Any help or enlightenment would be much appreciated. I hope I have given enough information. If not please let me know.

Thanks.

P…

Trixbox version Version: 1.2.3

Kernel Version 2.6.9-34.0.2.ELsmp (SMP)
Distro Name CentOS release 4.4 (Final)

Created by phpSysInfo-2.5.2_rc2 http://phpsysinfo.sourceforge.net/ on Sep 23, 2008 at 01:08 PM (this is the correct time)