Tools to diagnose QOS issues?

I am pretty new to FreePBX and phone systems in general so looking for some guidance. We are running FreePBX 12.0.76.2 offsite provided by a third party. There are times that I cannot get answers when we have QOS issues like dropped calls or calls that break up. A lot of this has been resolved by cleaning and speeding up our internet connection. There are still times that we have issues and I would like to see if there are tools or modules that would help pinpoint the problems source. The only tool that I am currently using for this is Endpoint manager -> Extension mapping to see if the response times of the phones are below 100ms. Usually during these time there are a few phones that are over 1000ms. I am eager to learn so if you can point me to the best place to get educated on this that also would be appreciated.

Thanks
Matt

Need a lot more info to help.

• What up/down speeds do you have on your internet connection (speedtest.net or similar)?
  • Is it a single connection or do you have a multi-WAN router?
  • What router make/model do you have?
  • What QoS settings do you have in the router?
  • Are you confident the problems are not within your own LAN?
  • Do you have SIP ALG switched OFF in the router?
  • How many simultaneous internal/external active calls?
  • How many phones? Makes/models?
  • Do the call problems occur with specific phones only?
  • What switches do you have between the phones and the router?
  • What codec are you using?

There’s very little “magic” about QoS - it’s really just a “weighting” system to determine which packets get preference IF AND WHEN the pipe gets busy. So the first task is to know exactly how busy your connection is getting - a good router should have the tools built in to help you with that. My Draytek 2960’s also show me dynamic bar charts of low/normal/medium/high priority traffic, as a way of verifying that the QoS settings are appropriate.