Terrible terrible database schema!

I’d like to file a bug to get a new database schema but had a couple of quick and easy questions for some who might be more knowledgeable than me in regards to the Asterisk side of things. (My background is all PHP and MySQL – I’ve been developing a couple of modules for our company lately.)

• Are there any cases where an extension might not be numeric?
  • What’s the difference between devices and users? Can one exist without the other, and if so, under what circumstances?

I think that’s all I need to know. Basically I’d just like to see some primary keys added, some uniqueness constraints, very basic and elementary data integrity stuff. Nothing that wouldn’t be backwards compatible.

miken32,
yes there is a lot of really bad schema in there and as you dig further you will probably find it gets worse:-( It has grown organically over a long period of time, and with contributions from a very wide range of sources and experience levels and with very little scrutiny early on.

As far as extensions being non-numeric, today no, in the future it’s possible. (Technically, phones can dial 0-9,A-D - in addition to the world of VoIP which can dial anything).

As far as devices being non-numeric, the constraints in FreePBX are somewhat artificial. We should let them be non-numeric (e.g. a MAC for instance) but we have restricted it only because of the unknowns through out the code base that have always assumed they would be numeric.