Telephony Card or VoIP Gateway Device?

I’m new to freePBX and VoIP in general. I have been looking at multiple wiki’s forums etc learning allot of useful information. I’ve ran into a question I don’t seem to be able to solve easily by pouring through forums and wiki’s. Which should I go with I haven’t settled on a server type whether its a rack server or tower server for my build. I haven’t settled yet because I’m unclear which to go with a Telephony card or a Gateway device. Obviously if card it will be tower and if Gateway then it will be rack, but which will be cheaper for me. I have 4 outside phone lines and 2 fax lines one of the phone lines is an 800# and one of the fax machines is hooked up to the LAN so everyone in the office can fax out using LANFax. What would be my best and cheapest choice for my build?

OK - there are a lot of things in here that might be issues, so I’ll just start in on a few of them:

1. FreePBX (via Asterisk) is a telephony Gateway. It might help to think of FreePBX as a management suite for Asterisk. It’s a lot more than that, but for purposes of your question, it should be fine.

2. You can build Asterisk into a lot of different physical spaces. Most of the servers I build (using PBX In A Flash, which is a FreePBX “distribution”) are rack mount.

3. I’m not clear on where you are trying to end up. Do you want to add some functionality to your 800 number and other incoming phone services? Are you trying to convert from POTS (Plain Old Telephone Services) to VOIP?

4. Are you planning on changing the phones in your office? Do you want to continue to use your POTS phones, or are you going to upgrade to a VOIP phone?

5. Do you actually have four phone lines, or are you getting your services over some other kind of connection? Obvious choices were are PRI and ISDN.

6. Do you want to to keep your phone lines?