Shut down warm backup server via SSH

I have created a warm backup server using the guide in the Wiki. I have my main PBX plugged in to a Cyberpower 1350VA UPS via a USB. This shuts down the main PBX fine, but is there a way for it to also shut down the warm spare?

Hi,

You can run a post backup hook. It is a script that will ssh to the backup server as root and send a poweroff command.
Why do you want to shutdown your backup server anyway?

Thank you,

Daniel Friedman
Trixton LTD.

I would like to shut it down gracefully in the event of a full power failure to protect it.

How would I create the post backup hook? I’ve never done anything like that before.

Traditionally one could write an init script that would in effect exec:-

ssh the_other_server ‘shutdown -h now’

if the shutdown was called by the UPS, this would need to be called before the network was stopped, and depends on what you are using for init, ‘systemd’ or ‘system V’ and what run-level your system calls on shutdown.

Hi,

Just create a bash script similar to this (I am assuming that you are authenticated by a certificate):

#!/bin/bash

function shutdown_backup_server () {

ssh root@backup_server.com -t "poweroff"

}

shutdown_backup_server

Please be advised that if you will use this script as a post backup hook, it will shutdown the backup server every time. If you want to shutdown your backup server just in a power failure, you can run this script manually from your production server.

Thank you,

Daniel Friedman
Trixton LTD.

Being that this is a “post backup” script that it will shutdown the warm spare after each backup? If that’s the case, that’s not really what I’m looking for.

Hi,

If you had read my answer again, you probably would have noticed that I have suggested to run this script manually in a power down situation.

Thank you,

Daniel Friedman
Trixton LTD.