Samsung SMT-W5120

Hi everyone,

I’m brand new to the world of FreePBX and I love it so far. I have been able to use my new server with softphones and I am not trying to get an IP phone up and running.

All I have to experiment with right now is a Samsung SMT-W5120. I have tried multiple times to register it with the FreePBX server and I keep receiving an “Unregistered” error.

Here is how I am attempting to set the phone up

SIP mode >
System DHCP (assuming this refers to the router and the handset, not the handset and server) >
My extension for User ID >
Password… no idea. It only takes 4 of what I am assuming are digits - on the previous system this phone was used on it was 0000 >
QOS On (have also tried Off) >
WiFi FON OFF (have also tried On)

WiFi Password

The screen reads “Searching…”, bars show up on the signal strength, then after a couple of seconds it says “Unregistered”

I really feel like I’m either missing something here or perhaps this phone is not compatible? Any help would be appreciated.

password is secret

Okay, if by “secret” you are referring to the Secret for the extension, that is an alphanumeric password greater than 4 characters - the phone seems to be asking for a numeric password, it does not show letters when you press a key - just an asterisk. I tried changing the extension’s password to a 4 digit number and it would not allow that.

You will need to change “Require Strong Secrets?” in the advanced settings.

Nice looking phone but a quick check of the Samsung site sure looks like this is proprietary to the Samsung Officeserv. It looks like it even requires the Samsun AP’s.

Is the handset connecting to you WLAN? Is it getting an IP? Do you see it trying to register with Asterisk if you watch a live SIP debug? I would turn off intrusion detection while troubleshooting it will end up blocking the IP before you figure out what is going on.