SAML Support

I see that in the past there were people insterested in having the ability to log in freepbx using a SAML IdP.

Im a SAML expert and I added SAML support to multiple open source apps (Moodle, Magento, Wordpress, Osticket, MediaWiki, Drupal, Joomla, …)

I opened this thread in order to verify if having such SAML module is something interesting for the freebpx community.

I plan to release a commercial module and offer support to help integrating and configuring it with any SAML IdP. What should be a fair price for such module?

If you are interested in such feature, please reply this thread.

My opinion. Mine only. I do not represent anyone but me.

Getting SAML added to SIP is going to require working closely with a LOT of people, many of whom have no incentive to support SAML. This isn’t a monolithic “connect and go” interface; we have people logging in to user interfaces (UCP) and phones logging in to SIP, PJSIP, and SCCP interfaces. At least one of those (SCCP) is going to be enormously resistant to change. We have hardware, software, and API interfaces that need secured and every one of these is going to be challenging from the start.

If I was thinking about this and being (really) old school, I’d probably start by building the SAML interface into the product and let people use it by hand. If they find it useful, they’ll want a management interface that they can then exploit. Then, and only then, would I consider adding a commercial support module.