Running yum update on lastet FreePBX distro

I can not find any information regarding running yum update on a fresh install of the latest FreePBX distro. Is it advisable to do yum update at all or just use the module admin of FreePBX to do upgrades? What is the recommendation for doing OS level updates if one plans on using the distro for installing a new system.

Disclaimer: I am new to FreePBX and usually build my own systems from source but the FreePBX GUI is really nice and I plan on using it for all my future deployments.

Module admin, does just what is says, manages FreePBX modules.

YUM is a software and system package tool. You use it to add or update software and Linux updates.

In the distro both are safe to use.

I understand what yum and the module admin are used for. I just don’t understand why when I run yum update I get the following packages getting updated and when I look at module admin it says everything is up to date.

Does module admin not take care of updating the Asterisk packages?

================================================================================
Package Arch Version Repository
Size

Updating:
asterisk18 i386 1.8.5.0-1_centos5 pbx 4.0 k
asterisk18-addons i386 1.8.5.0-1_centos5 pbx 3.3 k
asterisk18-addons-bluetooth i386 1.8.5.0-1_centos5 pbx 142 k
asterisk18-addons-core i386 1.8.5.0-1_centos5 pbx 287 k
asterisk18-addons-mysql i386 1.8.5.0-1_centos5 pbx 270 k
asterisk18-addons-ooh323 i386 1.8.5.0-1_centos5 pbx 2.8 M
asterisk18-core i386 1.8.5.0-1_centos5 pbx 21 M
asterisk18-curl i386 1.8.5.0-1_centos5 pbx 188 k
asterisk18-dahdi i386 1.8.5.0-1_centos5 pbx 1.2 M
asterisk18-voicemail i386 1.8.5.0-1_centos5 pbx 237 k
libpri i386 1.4.12-1_centos5 pbx 168 k
libpri-debuginfo i386 1.4.12-1_centos5 pbx 635 k
libpri-devel i386 1.4.12-1_centos5 pbx 230 k
sysadmin noarch 2.2-1 pbx 56 k
Installing for dependencies:
speex i386 1.2-0.11.rc1.el5 pbx 96 k

Correct, the module admin does not take care of CentOS packages, which includes Asterisk.