Routing decision based on DID

TLDR: Is it possible to route a call based on the original DID after the inbound route and if so, how?

Background

I’d like to set up a business hours announcement based on a time condition for all calls coming in on the main trunk. The trunk will carry calls for several DIDs and I would like to play the same announcement regardless of the DID, and then route the call to different destinations (different IVRs actually) based on the original DID.

The goal is to avoid creating and maintaining individual time conditions and announcements for every DID.

If it matters, I’m using a vanilla install of the most recent FreePBX image.

Possible? Yes. Easy? No.

Do you have a quantity of DIDs where it is worth the effort?

I’ve only got 4 right now; however, that may change to 10+ in the near future. I’d rather front load the work than have to update numerous branches of logic for every little change later (I’m a bit of a programmer and setting things up easy at first that are brittle later makes me itchy!). Also, since I’m a bit of a noob, I would be happy to get my hands dirty and learn as much as possible.

I have no idea how to do this, but I was thinking I could create a custom destination and then hand-code the Asterisk config (dial plan?) with the required logic. Did you have any other ideas? Would you mind getting me started with some pointers and/or examples? I’d be grateful for any help.

if it was me I would not consider this for 4 DIDs, but maybe the simplest way is to:

1. Manually create a context in extensions_custom.conf that prepends a string of nonsense digits to the DID, then goes to context from-trunk. Configure your trunk(s) to go to this context.
  2. Create an inbound route that intercepts calls to a DID with the prefix string specified in 1, direct to time condition or whatever