Rest API for allowing configuration changes from remote system

Hello,

Does anyone know of an existing Rest API that allows remote configuration of a FreePBX deployment. in particular, CRUD against extensions.

If nothing exists, I might look into creating something. That said I have very little experience with PHP and would prefer to write the Rest API in something like node or .net core.

Looking through the docs it appears Bootstrap (https://wiki.freepbx.org/display/FOP/Bootstrap) would be the best place to hook into FreePBX and using something like Dnode (https://github.com/bergie/dnode-php) to allow piping the commands across to Node.

Thoughts / feedback would be greatly appreciated.

dnode-php seems like overkill because the library is written around bi-directional communication with PHP scripts. There’s no point in doing that with FreePBX and that’s not a Rest API at all (are you looking for a Rest API or something else?). Since FreePBX is written around submitting webpages on a browser the need for bi-directional communication is slim. A true RestAPI framework is developed on a call/response type model. You want to PUT something and I return with an HTTP status code. You want to DELETE something and I return with an HTTP status code. Very push type methodology.

We have a Rest API module but it’s not all that great. It’s open source. In 15 we will be working on revamping it. I don’t think I can give a timeline on 15 but I will say “soon”. Externally I can say that 15 will be reworking backup and reworking restapi as you are the 5 or so person to ask for this in the last year.

Writing an API in another language (like Node or .net) for a library written in PHP is really going to hurt you in the long run. You need to be able to call native php functions otherwise you are just doing database and ami manipulations which you will have to port every time FreePBX makes a change to an underlying method. Not very portable at that stage.