[RESOLVED] Cisco 7940 connection issue

Hi everyone!

I recently purchased 2 Cisco 7940’s with the latest SIP firmware already pre-installed. One of these phones in now located in Minnesota and one in Colorado. The one in Minnesota is working fine with Freepbx and was a breeze to setup. The freepbx machine is hosted on a raspberry pi 3 with ethernet in Colorado. The phone in Colorado will not send a ping to the freepbx server located on the local network. The log files show nothing about this phone trying to ping, the other phone is pinging via the external IP address. The local phone just will not connect. Any advice or help is appreciated. I have read a-lot about TFTP being required however I have no idea on how to do this.

I am new to Freepbx as well as Asterisk. Thank you all!

configure manual not tftp check you network with other phone or softphone and try

I have been configuring manually and can confirm that the softphone using x-lite does work.

By “ping” I assume that you mean an ICMP echo request (what the ping command in Windows, Linux or the phone’s command line does).

A router normally does not forward ICMP but handles it internally, so when the MN phone pings the CO PBX on its public IP address, it’s actually the router that is answering. However, a ping from the CO phone must be answered by the PBX and a firewall may be blocking that.

Can the CO phone ping the router’s LAN address? If not, check the network settings. If that’s ok, can the PBX ping the local phone? If so, a firewall is likely blocking the other direction (and also likely blocking SIP). Possibly, How to disable iptables? - Raspberry Pi Forums may help. If not, post details about FreePBX version, OS version, etc.

What log file in what device? Normally, a ping wouldn’t cause anything to be logged.