Replication of servers for backup

I’m very new to Linux and using FreePBX 2.9 and have two Dell 1850 machine servers and using 1 as the primary and the second as just a backup, we are using SIP trunks. My question is how to use rsync to make a complete backup of server 1 to server 2 in case of a crash without user intervention. I have found this article http://keystoneit.wordpress.com/2007/11/01/hot-backup-setup-for-trixbox-pro/ on Trixbox but having a problem getting it to work for me, can anyone help a very newbie with the right commands.

take a look at the backup module. You can have server a’s data dumped to server b every so often but I don’t think there is a way to make it start automatically (at least on its own just with the backup module) on server b. Having backups on server b is a great idea and this assumes there’s at least access to the servers so in the event of server a going down, someone can complete the setup on server b.

If you’re new to freepbx and linux, failsafe is not really the best area to study right away. Do you know a lot about dhcp and hostnames?

Hi,

I agree totally with asterisk21st. We use the FreePBX backup module very successfully with backup servers. Our normal configuration is:

1. Primary and Secondary PBX both running on different IP addresses
  2. Primary config backed up to Secondary box using the FreePBX module and applied
  3. All handsets (using Aastra) have primary and backup proxy and registrar setup
  4. The SIP trunks are configured with primary and secondary IPs so they will talk to both servers

In the event we lose the primary server all the handsets and sip trunks swap over to the backup automatically.

Graham

http://www.freepbx.org/news/2010-05-30/high-availability-backup-and-restore